Adoption Support Groups

Join an Adoption Support Group

Because we recognize that being on an adoption journey can be a positive, yet challenging experience, we offer multiple support groups throughout the state. Support groups are a great place for those on their adoption journey to have a safe and non-judgmental place to connect with other adoptive parents. Our support groups are ran by Villages staff and parents and provide training and a way to connect with others experiencing similar challenges and successes. Some of our regions offer guest speakers, while others are led by the Villages staff member who is facilitating the group.

We are now offering statewide virtual support groups! Any adoptive parent, regardless of where you live in the state, can register for our Statewide Virtual Support Groups! See below for specific times and who to contact.

Consider joining our Villages Adoption Support Group on Facebook. This closed, secure group is a safe place to ask questions and gain support from other adoptive parents and Villages staff. 

Virtual support groups:

  1. Adoption Support Group for Teens (3-18); “What’s your name? and who’s your daddy?”, this 10-week series begins on Tuesday June 15th from 1-2 PM CST. For more information, please contact Gayle Podowski at GPodowski@villages.org
  2. Support group for adoptive parents via zoom on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month from 12:00-1:00 EST.  The contact person for this support group is kstagg@villages.org.
  3.  Adoptive Parent Support Group on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 6pm EST. Email sconner@village.org and pfowler@villages.org for more information.
  4. Virtual support group for adoptive parents every 4th Thursday at 6:30pm EST. If interested in joining please contact Tiffany Collins or Taylor Dore via email, tcollins@villages.org or tdore@villages.org . Zoom links are sent out to participants the day before the support group.
  5. Virtual support group for adoptive parents every 4th Monday of the month from 6:30-8:00pm CST.  For more information contact Gayle Podowski at GPodowski@villages.org.
  6. Mondays with  Margaret.  A virtual support group via Facebook.  This support group meets twice monthly.  The link is https://www.facebook.com/groups/2735226416521432. For more information about this group contact Margaret Abrell at mabrell@villages.org

Face to Face Support Group

Monthly support group, day and time varies depending on regular attendees’ availability.  For information about joining this group contact Kathy Stagg at kstagg@villages.org

The Villages’ Office

2405 N. Smith Pike

Bloomington, IN

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

For more information: Tammy Amador at 812-332-1245 or tamador@villages.org

 

Fayette County Library

828 N. Grand Ave.

Connersville, IN  47331

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

RSVP: Tamra Degroat at 812-230-5538 or tdegroat@villages.org

 

Faith Bible Church

5601 Oak Hill Road

Evansville, IN  47711

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

 

RSVP: Debbie Albin at 812-434-2956 or dalbin@villages.org

Faith Bible Church

5601 Oak Hill Road

Evansville, IN  47711

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

 

RSVP: Debbie Albin at 812-434-2956 or dalbin@villages.org

211 East Court Ave.

Jeffersonville, IN

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

 

RSVP: Tiffany Collins at 812-929-8729 or tcollins@villages.org

The Village’s Office

2739 Albright Rd.

Kokomo, IN  46902

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

For more info: Susan Conner at 765-455-8545 or sconner@villages.org

 

Redemption Church

1 Loogootee Plaza

Loogootee, IN

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

For more info: Tiffany Collins at 812-332-1245 or tcollins@villages.org

Peru Public Library

102 E. Main St.

Peru, IN  46970

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

 

For more info: Susan Conner at 765-455-8545 or sconner@villages.org

Alternating locations.

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

 

To inquire about location and to RSVP: Gayle Podowski at 219-762-3465 or gpodowski@villages.org

First Baptist Church

802 13th St.

Tell City, IN

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

RSVP: Debbie Albin at 812-434-2956 or dalbin@villages.org

Terre Haute Villages’ Office

1400 E. Pugh Dr. #6

Terre Haute, IN  47802

 

 

Please see the virtual support groups tab for current information. 

RSVP: Alisha Bowers at 812-238-8700 or abowers@villages.org